Friday, November 03, 2023

Texas Rangers win their first World Series

 My life is complete now that both the Houston Astros and the Texas Rangers have won a World Series championship.

That leaves four teams that have yet to win a World Series at anytime during their franchise history - San Diego Padres, Milwaukee Brewers, Colorado Rockies and Tampa Bay Rays.
Of those four, I will pull for the Padres to win next (provided they are not playing against the Astros or Rangers) since not only have the Padres franchise never won, neither has the city of San Diego. 
In the case of the Brewers, while the franchise has never won, the city of Milwaukee did have a championship winning team in 1957 with the Milwaukee Braves, before that team moved to Atlanta.
If you want to know which teams are next in line to feel sorry for, here is the list of the rest of the teams in order of the longest time since winning a championship.

1948 Cleveland Guardians 
1979 Pittsburgh Pirates
1983 Baltimore Orioles
1984 Detroit Tigers
1986 New York Mets
1989 Oakland Athletics
1990 Cincinnati Reds
1991 Minnesota Twins
1993 Toronto Blue Jays
2001 Arizona Diamondbacks
2002 Los Angeles Angels
2003 Florida Marlins
2005 Chicago White Sox
2008 Philadelphia Phillies
2009 New York Yankees
2011 St. Louis Cardinals
2014 San Francisco Giants
2015 Kansas City Royals
2016 Chicago Cubs
2018 Boston Red Sox
2019 Washington Nationals
2020 Los Angeles Dodgers
2021 Atlanta Braves
2022 Houston Astros
2023 Texas Rangers