Monday, July 09, 2007

Seven Wonders

Since all but one of the original Seven Wonders of the World no longer exists, someone came up with the bright idea of selecting seven new wonders of the world. So they had a list of nominees drawn up and then opened up a big, worldwide vote. The final results were just announced the other day and they are mostly impressive with just a few quibbles.

The new Seven Wonders include (in no particular order):

Chichén Itzá pyramid, Mexico

Christ the Redeemer statue, Brazil

The Great Wall of China, China

Machu Picchu, Peru

Petra, Jordan

The Roman Colloseum, Italy

The Taj Mahal, India.

The Great Pyramid of Giza in Egypt was not included in the voting because it already has Seven Wonder status as the sole remaining wonder from the original historic list.
Some famous monuments that just missed making the list include the Statue of Liberty in New York; The Eiffel Tower in Paris, France, and the Acropolis in Greece.

No comments:

Post a Comment